Nearly 5 years ...

Especially for parents whose sons or daughters died by suicide.

Nearly 5 years ...

Postby cmarie » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:16 pm

I work in the social services field in my community. As a community we are struggling to find away to cope with all the anxiety and depression in our young people. Many see it as an epidemic.

I am at a meeting today, where I feel like it might make a difference if I tell them my sorry. Liam's story. But the words stick in my throat, and my eyes fill with the goddamn tears. And I know I will not be able to speak without it turning to sobs, and I can't do it.

This September will be 5 years since I lost my boy, and while I function everyday, the pain and grief are still so close to the surface. Just a little scrape of the paint and there they are.

It's 6 hours later and I still feel raw from the experience.

Needed to put down the words. Thank you.
I'll love you forever,
I'll like you for always.
As long as I'm living,
My baby you'll be.
cmarie
Supporting

Re: Nearly 5 years ...

Postby Blossom » Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:21 pm

Heard, cmarie. How else is a broken heart supposed to sound?
I am thinking of you and your family, and of Liam.
It's been so long - but it also seems like yesterday....
Blossom x

If nothing else, give refuge to those in need.
Blossom
Mentor

Postby cmarie » Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:55 pm

Yes it does feel like yesterday some days. I'm in the midst of a wave again I guess. It's been a long while, and I know "this too shall pass", and still.... It catches me off guard and is painful.
Thanks blossom
I'll love you forever,
As long as I'm living,
My baby you'll be.
cmarie
Supporting

Postby cali » Sat Jul 11, 2015 11:37 am

Feels like yesterday to me too, cmarie. I am tracking along with you. This time of year falls like a ton of bricks, the ptsd, the memories of the weeks and days leading up.
Thinking of you, and blossom too.
cali
cali
Supporting

Postby briansfolks » Sat Jul 11, 2015 12:21 pm